Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Renaming a shared content block can have two meanings depending on what you want to update. Renaming can mean:

  • Changing the Title field to update the shared content block's contextual meaning.
  • Changing the System Name field to change the name of the shared content block within Cascade.

Changing the Title Field

To change the title field of an existing shared content block, you require 'Write' permission for the shared content block.

  1. Go to the Edit tab, located above the shared content block preview.
  2. Change the 'Title' field as desired.
  3. Click the Submit button.

If a shared content block is included within a website page, updating the title field will require you to publish the page(s) that include the shared content block in order to reflect this change.

Changing the System Name Field

To change the system name (i.e. file name) existing shared content block, you require 'Write' permission for the shared content block.

  1. Go to the Move/Rename tab, located above the shared content block preview.
  2. Change the 'System Name' field as desired.
  3. Un-check the option 'Unpublish Content'.
  4. Click the Submit button.

It is very important that you un-check the option "Unpublish Content" before submitting your changes. Failure to do so will result in an error similar to the screenshot below.

 

Links and other references

  • Cascade will automatically change all internal links to point to the shared content block's new system name.

Related Topics

Take me back to Cascade User's Guide